Mass Comm 103: Prof. Craig: Presidents After Lincoln 

Presidents After Lincoln
Andrew Johnson Ulysses S. Grant Rutherford B. Hayes James A. Garfield Chester A. Arthur
Andrew Johnson Ulysses S. Grant Rutherford B. Hayes James Garfield Chester A. Arthur

Notable Facts:

  • At end of “Era of Bearded Presidents”
  • All five had been Union officers in Civil War
  • Johnson was first president to be impeached (missed being removed from office by one vote)
  • Johnson only president to later serve in U.S. Senate
  • Grant's presidency rocked by scandal - corruption was found in seven Federal departments, including the Navy, Justice, War, Treasury, Interior, State, and the Post Office.
  • Grant died essentially penniless from collapse of his son's brokerage firm
  • Hayes-Tilden election was closest ever at the time - congressional commission cut a deal with Hayes
  • Hayes grew to hate the office and didn't seek second term
  • Garfield had been Union officer, then in Congress for 17 years
  • Garfield's presidency lasted less than a year; was second president assassinated
  • Arthur had been chosen as a compromise candidate for vice president, became reformer
  • Arthur was not nominated for re-election 

The four presidents before Lincoln (Taylor, Fillmore, Pierce, Buchanan) and the five after (above) are regularly listed by historians as among the worst presidents in U.S. history.

Back to the top of the page
Back to Richard Craig's Home Page
To JMC Home Page
Send comments and thoughts to